Digital Synthesizers

My name is Dan Hutchison, and this blog is going to be all about digital synthesis. I will cover things from my favorite software synths to sound design. I chose this topic because I am a self taught music producer, and digital synthesis is very much a part of the music producer’s lifestyle.  There’s nothing quite like creating raw and powerful sounds on a good synth. Any producer will tell you that the digital synthesizer is an integral part of any professionals toolkit.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 9.42.38 PM

We will be taking a look at some of the best digital synths on the market as well as how they work. I will cover things like ADSR, additive vs granular synthesis and how to automate synth parameters in a DAW. We will be investigating these synths closely and discuss how each one approaches synthesis. Every synth is different and has its own features that make it unique. Whether you are a beginner or an advanced producer, you’re bound to find some cool stuff covered in this blog if you’re into synthesis.

In the future I may expand these discussions beyond wordpress in order to expand my audience to a wider range of music producers and synthesis lovers. I will be sharing all of the posts on my twitter account, but I may start a facebook page covering this topic as well. This would open the opportunity for further interaction with the synthesis enthusiast community. We will most definitely be taking a look into my new favorite synth, Serum, in my next post. Keep an eye out for new stuff on the page as I will be adding much more throughout the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

