My Thoughts on Blogging

I am new to blogging. I didn’t think it was something I would find interesting, but I was slightly surprised at how freely the words flowed while writing about a topic that I enjoy. It’s a good outlet and a great way to help yourself grow your knowledge about your own topic. I found that there were some things that I liked more than others with WordPress in particular and blogging as a whole.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 10.21.34 PM

Lots of upkeep

You really have to keep up with your blog to utilize it effectively It’s a took not only for your audience to learn, but for the user to learn as well. Keeping up with the blog teaches you a lot about your own topic that you didn’t know. It’s cool to be able to grow with your blog experience, but you have to be dedicated to achieve that. I learned that I can use this in the future to help further my own personal interests in a subject.

Dos and Don’ts

Avoid unoriginal use of multimedia in your blog. I didn’t always use the tools properly in my posts and it showed sometimes. A bad photo can make a post seem lame when it’s actually very informational. Be sure to strategically use the feature that WordPress offers to achieve maximum effect. If you intend on using a blog to further your personal career be sure you keep these things in mind.

My Stats

I didn’t get many views, but my most popular week was the week of February 26. I got eight views on that day. my most popular post was the one called “Digital Synthesizers”. I think it was the most viewed because it gave the general outline of what the blog was going to be all about. I was surprised that I got even eight views on my busiest week. I didn’t think anyone other than my lab instructor would take a look at my blog.

I’m not sure that I am going to continue blogging, but I value the experience I had while keeping up with this one. It has shown me a way to direct my interests towards something constructive.

Leave a Reply

